Skip to content

2017 RAMMY Winners announced: RAMMYS red carpet gala

And the 2017 RAMMY Winners are…

Restaurant Association of Metropolitan of Washington (RAMW) held the 35th Annual RAMMY Award ceremony in style and in star-studded fashion at the July 30 gala at the Walter E. Convention Center. In partnership with DC Events and the Citi Open Tennis Tournament, RAMW pulled out all the stops with a red carpet,DJ-driven music, tasting tables from near and far, including succulent indulgences and beverage bars from its finalists, and samples from international tourism, diplomatic and trade associations, including, for example, Taste of Peru, The Argentine Embassy and Wines of Argentina. This year, the RAMMYS co-hosted the Citi Open Tennis Tournament Players Party within the event, adding to the forum’s celebrity status. A cast of notable personalities among D.C.’s elite were on tap to present the awards. A few of these included Joe Yonan, food/dining editor of the Washington Post, Council Member Jack Evans (Ward 2); Eun Yang, NBC Washington reporter, Holly Morris from Fox 5, RAMW Chairman John Snedden, RAMMYS Gala Chair David Moran, and 2016 RAMMYS winner Scott Drewno (Chiko). Kathy E. Hollinger, president & CEO of RAMW, kicked off the Awards ceremony. Eatery Pulse TV was represented at the event by its news anchor Mina Lezcano, part of the news team assembled to beef up industry coverage for restaurateurs in Metro D.C. and available on YouTube, as well as photographer Matthew T. Robinson. 2017 RAMMY Awards Mina Lezcano SERVICE PROGRAM OF THE YEAR The Source by Wolfgang Puck WINE PROGRAM OF THE YEAR Charlie Palmer Steak CHEF OF THE YEAR Tarver King of the Restaurant at Patowmac Farm REGIONAL FOOD AND BEVERAGE PRODUCER OF THE YEAR DC Brau Brewing Company UPSCALE CASUAL RESTAURANT OF THE YEAR Proof CASUAL RESTAURANT OF THE YEAR Compass Rose Bar + Kitchen BEER PROGRAM OF THE YEAR Jack Rose Dining Saloon COCKTAIL PROGRAM OF THE YEAR Kapnos by Mike Isabella EMPLOYEE OF THE YEAR Joseph Cassis of PassionFish Bethesda MANAGER OF THE YEAR John Grace of The Hamilton RISING CULINARY STAR OF THE YEAR Ryan Ratino of (now closed) Ripple JOAN HISAOKA ALLIED MEMBER OF THE YEAR Acme Paper & Supply Co., Inc. DUKE ZEIBERT CAPITAL ACHIEVEMENT AWARD Ashok Bajaj of Knightsbridge Restaurant Group PASTRY CHEF OF THE YEAR Jemil Gadea of Masseria FORMAL FINE DINING RESTAURANT OF THE YEAR Minibar by Jose Andres NEW RESTAURANT OF THE YEAR Hazel RAMMYS 2017 Cava Group RESTAURATEUR OF THE YEAR Ike Grigoropoulos, Dimitri Moshovitis, Ted Xenohristos, and Brett Schulman, Cava Group VOTING PUBLIC WINNERS: FAVORITE GATHERING PLACE OF THE YEAR Pearl Dive Oyster Palace UPSCALE BRUNCH OF THE YEAR Convivial CASUAL BRUNCH OF THE YEAR Republic See more stories like this one here: Fall 2017 Digital Issue