2018 RAMMYS finalists announced at RAMW Nominations Party

And the 2018 RAMMY Award finalists are…

The 2018 RAMMY Award finalists were announced this evening at a Nominations Party at The Hamilton, sponsored by the Restaurant Association Metropolitan Washington (RAMW). Nominees were selected from an eligible pool of restaurants that are members of the association.** It was an evening party like no other, with top food and drink selections from acclaimed restaurants, including Minibar by Jose Andres, Chiko and many more. The initial set of finalist announcements was headlined by renowned, local reporter and personality Eun Yang, NBC4 Washington.

The voting public will decide the winners in four categories: Favorite Gathering Place of the Year, Upscale Brunch of the Year, Casual Brunch of the Year and Favorite Fast Bites of the Year. To vote, navigate to http://www.nbcwashington.com/RAMMYS through Monday, April 30, 2018 at 5:00 p.m. The remaining categories are decided by a panel comprising food and dining journalists, educators and foodservice industry professionals who remain anonymous.

The Joan Hisaoka Allied Member of the Year and Duke Zeibert Capital Achievement awards are selected by the executive committee of RAMW. The Duke Zeibert Award will be announced in April.


Joan Hisaoka Allied Member of the Year

  • Coastal Sunbelt Produce
  • Congressional Seafood
  • Streetsense
  • TriMark Adams-Burch
  • USI Insurance Services

Favorite Gathering Place of the Year

  • Bar Charley
  • Cheesetique – Shirlington
  • Fare Well
  • Right Proper Brewing Company
  • The Daily Dish

Upscale Brunch of the Year

  • Osteria Morini
  • Seasons
  • Sfoglina
  • The Restaurant at Patowmack Farm
  • The Source by Wolfgang Puck
2018 RAMMYS finalists Eatery Pulse_600
2018 RAMMYS Nominations Party

Casual Brunch of the Year

  • Ambar Capitol Hill
  • Ari’s Diner
  • Ivy City Smokehouse Tavern
  • Maketto
  • Vinoteca

Favorite Fast Bites of the Year

  • Moby Dick House of Kabob
  • Shouk
  • Stomping Ground
  • Taco Bamba Taqueria

Cocktail Program of the Year

  • Bar Charley
  • Barmini by José Andrés
  • Espita Mezcaleria
  • Petworth Citizen and Reading Room
  • Royal

Beer Program of the Year

  • Brasserie Beck
  • Owen’s Ordinary
  • Republic
  • Roofers Union
  • The Sovereign

Wine Program of the Year

  • Bourbon Steak
  • Compass Rose Bar + Kitchen
  • Le Diplomate
  • Range
  • Trummer’s on Main

Employee of the Year

  • Gerarda Lazo, Pizzeria Paradiso
  • Sharon Rissal, Jaleo, Bethesda
  • Pete Rymshaw, The Salt Line
  • Edgar Salvador, Centrolina
  • Andrea Tateosian, Urbana

Manager of the Year

  • Julio Amador, Cork Wine Bar & Market
  • Daniel Coughlan, Compass Rose Bar + Kitchen
  • Matthew McQuilkin, Pizzeria Paradiso
  • Heidi Minora, Commissary
  • Adam Rigaa, Brasserie Beck

Service Program of the Year

  • Bourbon Steak
  • Le Diplomate
  • Minibar by José Andrés
  • The Red Hen
  • Tosca

Pastry Chef of the Year

  • Fabrice Bendano, Le Diplomate
  • Naomi Gallego, Neighborhood Restaurant Group
  • Tiffany MacIsaac, Buttercream Bakeshop
  • Pichet Ong, Maketto
  • Erin Reed, Blue Duck Tavern

Rising Culinary Star of the Year

  • Gerald Addison and Chris Morgan, Compass Rose Bar + Kitchen & Maydan
  • Carlos Delgado, China Chilcano
  • Daniela Moreira, Timber Pizza Company
  • Michael Rafidi, Arroz & Requin
  • Russell Smith, The Source by Wolfgang Puck

Casual Restaurant of the Year

  • Daikaya
  • Duke’s Grocery
  • Ivy City Smokehouse Tavern
  • Royal
  • Timber Pizza Company

Upscale Casual Restaurant of the Year

  • Centrolina
  • Clarity
  • Iron Gate
  • Maketto
  • Sushi Taro

New Restaurant of the Year

  • Bresca
  • Chiko
  • Del Mar
  • Maydan

Formal Fine Dining Restaurant of the Year

  • Fiola Mare
  • Masseria
  • Rasika
  • The Source by Wolfgang Puck
  • Trummer’s on Main

Chef of the Year

  • Kyle Bailey, The Salt Line
  • Amy Brandwein, Centrolina
  • David Deshaies, Unconventional Diner
  • Katsuya Fukushima, Daikaya Group
  • Rob Rubba, Hazel

Regional Food and Beverage Producer of the Year

  • Atlas Brew Works
  • Bluejacket
  • Ivy City Smokehouse
  • Logan Sausage Co.
  • Right Proper Brewing Company

Restaurateur of the Year

  • Stephen and Mark Fedorchak, and Brian Normiles, Liberty Tavern Restaurant Group
  • Ari Gejdenson, Mindful Restaurants
  • Jamie Leeds, JL Restaurant Group
  • Daisuke Utagawa, Katsuya Fukushima and Yama Jewayni, Daikaya Group
  • Ype von Hengst and Bob Giaimo, Silver Diner & Silver

**Any RAMW member who met all category requirements was eligible for nomination.

For more about the publisher of this restaurant news site, navigate here.

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: